Print Page
Share |


The Tax Professional Qualification consists of a Knowledge Component which is completed through studies at an accredited tertiary institution, Practical Skills Component completed through accredited short courses at tertiary institutions or accredited employer training academies and the Workplace Experience Component completed at an approved workplace experience provider.


As the Assessment Quality Partner (AQP) for the Tax Professional Qualification, SAIT is only responsible for the recommendation of providers for the knowledge and practical skills component. Providers can apply directly to the Quality Council for Trades and Occupations (QCTO) for accreditation as Skills Development Providers. 

Details of Accredited Skills Development Providers. 

Read more to apply as an Accredited Skills Development Provider. 

The following documents are provided for your reference:

1. QCTO Criteria and Guidelines on Accreditation of Skills Development Providers (SDPs)


SAIT is responsible for the approval and accreditation of employers that provide the workplace experience components of the Qualification.  Read more to apply as an accredited workplace provider.

Details of Accredited Workplace Providers.

Learners from non-accredited programmes and individuals already in practice can also enter and progress in the learning programme leading to the Qualification. SAIT as the AQP administers the Knowledge Competency Assessment and Practical Skills Competency Assessment that will assess learners against the assessment criteria for these components of the Occupational Qualification: Tax Professional. Candidates can also apply to SAIT to have their previous work experience recognised for entry into the External Integrated Summative Assessment (final exam).


An Assessment Centre means a centre accredited by the QCTO for the purpose of conducting EISA for registered occupational qualifications or trades.

An application to become an assessment centre must be submitted to SAIT. Please familiarise yourself with the qualification you wish to conduct assessments for. Interested applicants should familiarise themselves with the following documents before applying for accreditation:

For a complete list of all QCTO accredited Assessment Centres, please follow this link



Section 240A of the Tax Administration Act, 2011 (as amended) requires that all tax practitioners register with a recognized controlling body before 1 July 2013. It is a criminal offense to not register with both a recognized controlling body and SARS.

  • Tax Practitioner Registration Requirements & FAQ's
  • Rate Our Service

    Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal