Print Page
News & Press: SARS News & Tax Administration

The Davis Tax Committee Calls For Contributions

Monday, 11 November 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Author: National Treasury
Share |

Author: National Treasury

Following his 2013 Budget announcement, the Minister of Finance publicised the members of a tax review committee on 17 July 2013. The committee, now known as the Davis Tax Committee (DTC), will examine the role of South Africa’s tax system to promote growth, job creation, sustainable development and fiscal self-reliance. It will take the long term objectives of the National Development Plan into account in its work. 

Using its Terms of Reference as the point of departure, the DTC has adopted a work programme that has prioritised the establishment of specialist sub-committees on small businesses, the appropriateness of the tax base and tax mix in South Africa, and base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS). 

The DTC has also adopted an approach that is participatory and consultative. This will provide for wide engagement with all stakeholders. Special dialogue sessions are arranged on an ongoing basis to take into account a diversity of interests and opinions. The DTC accordingly calls upon all interested parties to make use of the opportunity to contribute to the mentioned priorities for now. 

Top priority of the DTC at the moment is to address ways in which the tax system can be improved to facilitate entrepreneurship and the growth of small businesses. Various tax packages already exist to encourage small businesses. The DTC needs to review these packages to find an optimal tax package that assists small businesses in contributing towards economic growth and reducing the high unemployment rate. Urgent contributions in this regard will be most welcome by 20 November 2013. 

Contributions with regard to the tax burden and tax mix are invited by 30 November 2013. The BEPS Sub-Committee is working on a longer timeframe that is aligned with the OECD BEPS Action Plan. Contributions with regard to BEPS are welcome by 31 January 2014. 

All contributions can be made via e-mail to . More details on the work of the DTC and its Terms of Reference can be found on its website, 

For further details, please contact Mr Vinesh Pillay on 012 422 5204 



Section 240A of the Tax Administration Act, 2011 (as amended) requires that all tax practitioners register with a recognized controlling body before 1 July 2013. It is a criminal offense to not register with both a recognized controlling body and SARS.

  • Tax Practitioner Registration Requirements & FAQ's
  • Rate Our Service

    Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal