Print Page
News & Press: Transfer Pricing & International Tax

Work underway for the development of the BEPS Multilateral Instrument

Monday, 01 June 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Author: OECD
Share |

Author: OECD

Work on the development of the Multilateral‎ Instrument to implement the tax treaty-related Base Erosion and Profit Shifting (BEPS) Action Plan began on 27 May 2015 in Paris. As per the OECD/G20 mandate, the ad hoc Group that will complete the work under Action 15 has been established, with over 80 countries participating. At the meeting, members of the Group appointed Mr. Mike Williams of the United Kingdom as Chair, and Mr. Liao Tizhong of the People’s Republic of China, Mr. Mohammed Amine Baina of Morocco and Mrs. Kim S. Jacinto-Henares of the Philippines as Vice-Chairs. Participants also agreed on a number of procedural issues so that the substantive work can begin at an Inaugural Meeting which will take place on 5-6 November 2015 (back to back with the 20th Annual Tax Treaty Meeting for government officials which will take place on 3-4 November 2015). A number of international organisations will also be invited to participate in the work as Observers.

Members of the ad hoc Group are (as of 28 May 2015): Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Bhutan, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, China (People’s Republic of), Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus1, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Viet Nam and Zambia.

The Group remains open to participation from all interested countries. Countries which are interested to join this Group are invited to contact the OECD Secretariat ( with the contact details of their designated qualified experts. For more information, download the overview.

Please click here to view full article.

This article first appeared on



Section 240A of the Tax Administration Act, 2011 (as amended) requires that all tax practitioners register with a recognized controlling body before 1 July 2013. It is a criminal offense to not register with both a recognized controlling body and SARS.

  • Tax Practitioner Registration Requirements & FAQ's
  • Rate Our Service

    Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal